AllInPokerOdds.com
It pays to know.
login, learn more or register now for free

Can't raise an all-in that's been called - Posts

4 posts, showing 1 to 4.

Can't raise an all-in that's been called
1.

See this hand (I am "Paradician"), I bet out $800 and got an All-In response for $1011, another guy calls that, when it comes back to me I can't raise further (I wanted to put the caller all-in too) - I could only call or fold. Luckily I went all-in on the flop and didn't get donked.

Is that normal, or should I have been allowed to raise more pre-flop?

bwin.pokerctrl.com/pokerhandhistory/client?sRoundReference=T4%2d93481459%2d58&lang=en

 
2.

It is normal. I believe if the all in raise was $1200 or more it would be considered a raise and that would mean you could re-raise preflop.

Here is the explanation: The minimum raise is double the bet in this case $1600. Seeing as $1011 falls closer to a call ($800) than a raise ($1600) I believe it is treated as a call meaning you can't re-raise.

I am not 100% sure whether a $1200 or $1600 all in would allow you to re-raise but i believe its $1200.

 
3.

Cool, makes sense. Chur bro

 
4.

Hmm this sort of situation came up at cossie last night, I have since tried to find the exact rule and have found that in order for the initial raiser to re-raise the all in must be more than the min. raise. So in the above example it would have to be an all in for $1600 or more.

 
Add Post
Receive an email when someone replies to this topic.